Good-Bye, Dennis

Didn’t I just write one of these yesterday? Fuck.

Despite early reports of his grave condition this still hurts to hear. Dennis Hopper was one of the best, man, tearing into my subconscious and making himself home with such films as . . . ah, who am I kidding? If you don’t know who Dennis Hopper is you need to read another blog.

One of the most revelatory cinematic experiences I’ve ever had was watching Hopper as Frank Booth in BLUE VELVET. A manic, indulgent, and lobe-scorching performance, Hopper’s turn in that film grabbed me by the ears and pimp-slapped me until I was as under his thrall as Isabella Rosellini in said film. (Perhaps adding to giddy dementia of this movie was that when I first saw it it was with my grandparents. Yeah, it was a night to remember.)

Damn. Damn, damn, damn. You were an original, Dennis, an American classic. You will be missed, but not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

