Oh, Come the Fuck On

Really? Really?

I’m certainly no prude, but I’m truly, fundamentally offended by this commercial. What’s the purpose of this ad? Are guys really unaware that products exist that allow them to clean their junk? Yeah, I know, it’s Axe, and therefore required to pander to lowest common Neanderthal, but I really don’t need a demo from Jaime Pressly on how to wash my boys.

What I hate most is the sniggering, smug tone, as if it’s getting away with something daring and irreverent (“We’re talking about balls, but we’re really talking about balls!”) with its oh-so-clever wit. It’s one thing to be an asshole. It’s another thing to be proud of being an asshole. But if you’re going to be an asshole, at least be aware that you’re being one, and to what degree, and don’t delude yourself into believing otherwise.

I know, I know, consider the source, consider the target audience, but that doesn’t change the soul-sucking awfulness of this spot.

Leave a Reply

