Archive for Rich Bottles Jr.

WESTWARD HOES Now Available

Posted in Books, Writing with tags , , , , , , , , , , on February 23, 2013 by Scott Emerson

Westward Hoes

Now available from Burning Bulb Publishing, the bizarro western anthology WESTWARD HOES. Edited by Gary Lee Vincent ad Rich Bottles, Jr. (who previously brought you THE BIG BOOK OF BIZARRO), it features nine decidedly demented tales of strange and unspeakable debauchery in the Old West. Most of the authors involved also appeared in BBoB–like Wol-vriey, who contributes the novella “Big Trouble in Little Ass”–so if you dug that one, you should enjoy this, too.

My story therein, “Succubi Sundown,” contains probably the most bizarre sex scene I’ve ever written.

Order yours from Amazon for $12.99 here: http://www.amazon.com/Westward-Hoes-Rich-Bottles-Jr/dp/0615759580/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361652793&sr=8-1&keywords=westward+hoes

Review: Hellhole West Virginia by Rich Bottles Jr.

Posted in Books, Writing with tags , , , , , , , , on January 16, 2012 by Scott Emerson

Author Rich Bottles Jr. continues his brand of “humororrorotica” with his second novel HELLHOLE WEST VIRGINIA. Not content to simply focus on a single plot, Bottles offers several seemingly unrelated storylines before mashing them together in an over-the-top riot of Mountain State madness; in addition to vampiric eco-terrorists, you’ll find cave-dwelling zombies, a seedy motel/tattoo parlor with unusual amenities, and the real story behind the Mothman.

HELLHOLE is a swift, entertaining read, with frequent detours into deviant sex and colored with raunchy, often unspeakable humor (there’s a doctor’s visit in this book that ranks as one of the most hilariously repellent scenes I’ve ever read). Fans of Richard Laymon or Edward Lee’s backwoods tales will want to plan a trip to Hellhole.

Review: Lumberjacked by Rich Bottles Jr.

Posted in Books with tags , , , , , , , on November 3, 2011 by Scott Emerson

In his debut novel LUMBERJACKED, Rich Bottles Jr. takes us on a nightmare trip into Appalachia, where bloody death awaits at the hands of mountain-dwelling locals. But don’t expect a hackneyed riff on WRONG TURN or DELIVERANCE here, as the twists and turns LUMBERJACKED takes go beyond mere hillbilly stereotypes–or common decency.

The premise, however, is a classic slasher formula. A group of college freshmen–beautiful, nubile, constantly horny college freshmen, I hasten to add–embark on a scenic tour of rural West Virginia (on the anniversary of what is locally known as “Skull Fucking Day”), where they run afoul of a pack of good ol’ boys possessed by the spirits of murderous lumberjacks. Buckets of gore spill in myriad, imaginative ways, but Bottles’ brand of “humororrorotica” avoids being predictable with plenty of detours and misdirections, none of which can be described in polite company.

Bottles’ style is as broad and crude as a dirty joke on a men’s room stall (it makes Edward Lee’s redneck stories look like Shirley Jackson–and I mean that as a compliment), packing his tale with kinky sex, unashamedly over-the-top violence, and ludicrous, VERY politically-incorrect humor. Yet he keeps the action moving smoothly and never fails to be entertaining.

For fans of backwoods bloodshed, LUMBERJACKED goes down like a fast-food banquet–quick, hot, and satisfying.